Pathway to Information Security


Certification could round out your knowledge base, serve as an introduction to a new area, or serve as a differentiator between you and the next applicant, even if for an entry-level job. One can increase  experience through the pursuit of certifications.There are two basic types of certifications management and technical.Each of the following cyber security certifications covers the tools, techniques and best practices.

1.CEH(Certified Ethical Hacking)

This certification is the entry level certification which is vendor by E-Commerce Consultants(EC-Council).This is must for people who are pursuing careers in ethical hacking. Its a 48-hour certification.After the course, candidates must pass one objective exam.The cost for the certification varies between ₹40,000 to ₹50,000 .CEH credential holders possess skills and knowledge on hacking practices in areas such as footprinting and reconnaissance, scanning networks, enumeration, system hacking, Trojans, worms and viruses, sniffers, denial-of-service attacks, social engineering, session hijacking, hacking web servers, wireless networks and web applications, SQL injection, cryptography, penetration testing, evading IDS, firewalls, and honeypots. During this certification one can decide in which domain he/she can put hands on: network security testing or application security testing.Student gets to know about various automated tools required for the testing like Nessus, Nmap, Burpsuite, Acutenix etc.that help in finding out vulnerabilities.

2. CISSP(Certified Information Security System Professional)

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is an advanced-level certification who are serious about careers in information security. It is offered by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium(ISC)2 and pronounced as ISC squared.The certification is not just for the assessment of one’s solid knowledge about information security, but it is also a standard of achievement that is acknowledged worldwide.Its a 4-day training program that cost you around ₹30,000 to ₹40,000(incudes both CISSP and concentration).This certification requires at least five years of paid, full-time experience in at least two of the eight (ISC)domains or four years of paid, full-time experience in at least two of the eight (ISC)2 domains and a college degree. CISSP has two exams one for CISSP (250 multiple-choice and advanced innovative questions, six hours) and one for each concentration area.

(ISC)2 also offers three CISSP concentrations targeting specific areas of interest in IT security:

  • Architecture (CISSP-ISSAP)
  • Engineering (CISSP-ISSEP)
  • Management (CISSP-ISSMP)

Pages: 1 2 3

2 thoughts on “Pathway to Information Security

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: